WHITSTABLE YACHT CLUB

Founded 1902 Affiliated RYA CLUB CHAMPIONSHIPS NOTICE OF RACE August 23-25 2025

ORGANISING AUTHORITY

The organising authority is Whitstable Yacht Club.

RULES

The racing shall be governed by The Racing Rules of Sailing (RRS) 2025 - 2029, the prescriptions of the Royal Yachting Association (RYA), the appropriate class rules, Canterbury City Council Water Safety Rules and the Sailing Instructions for this event. In the event of conflict these Sailing Instructions shall prevail.

CONDITIONS OF ENTRY

The event is open to any member of Whitstable Yacht Club.

REGISTRATION

Competitors must sign on before going afloat to race in accordance with WYC Sailing Instructions; see Safety below

PROGRAMME

The first race Warning Signal will be no earlier than 13.54hrs on Saturday 23 August. The programme is scheduled as follows:

Saturday 23 Aug 14.00 Race 1

Race 2 back to back to Race 1

Sunday 24 Aug 14.00 Race 3

Race 4 back to back to Race 3

Monday 25 Aug 14.00 Race 5

Race 6 back to back to Race 5

Prizegiving: as soon as possible after Race 6

The racing will be run as "all in" handicap using average lap times with a single start for all classes.

SCORING SYSTEM

There are 6 races scheduled of which at least 2 shall be completed to constitute a series. The Low Points Scoring System, RRS A4 will apply. In the event of only 2 races being sailed both results will count, if 3 or more races are sailed each boat shall discard its worst score.

COURSES

Courses will be set in Whitstable Bay, approximately North West of Whitstable Yacht Club. The course configuration will be displayed on the WYC course board. Starts and finishes will either be from the club line or a committee boat. Starts and the starting sequence will be displayed on the WYC course board and at the briefing.

RISK STATEMENT

Sailing is by its nature an unpredictable sport and therefore inherently involves an element of risk. By taking part in the event, each competitor agrees and acknowledges that:

- they are aware of the inherent element of risk involved in the sport and accept responsibility for the exposure of themselves, their crew and their boat to such inherent risk whilst taking part in the event;
- they are responsible for the safety of themselves, their crew, their boat and their other property whether afloat or ashore;
- they accept responsibility for any injury, damage or loss to the extent caused by their own actions or omissions;
- their boat is in good order, equipped to sail in the event and they are fit to participate;
- the provision of a race management team, patrol boats and other officials and volunteers by the organiser does not relieve them of their own responsibilities;
- the provision of patrol boat cover is limited to such assistance, particularly in extreme weather conditions, as can be practically provided in the circumstances;
- it is their responsibility to familiarise themselves with any risks specific to this venue or this event referred to in the Sailing Instructions and to attend any safety briefing held at the venue; and
- their boat is adequately insured, with cover of at least £3,000,000 against third party claims.

SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

Sailing Instructions will be published on the WYC website at http://www.wyc.org.uk.

SAFETY - SIGNING OUT and SIGNING IN

All competitors shall sign out on the form provided at the veranda railings before launching and shall sign back in on the same form as soon as possible after coming ashore, and certainly WITHIN 30 MINUTES OF THE FINISH OF THE LAST BOAT IN THE LAST RACE OF THE DAY. This procedure is for the safety of competitors and failure to comply may result in disqualification or a £5 fine, which will be donated to the RNLI.

PRIZES

Trophies will be awarded subject to a minimum of 3 entrants per fleet or at the discretion of the sailing committee as follows:

Dawes Trophy – for the overall club champion

Tom Bourne Trophy – for first youth (u18) overall

WYC Racing Shield – for first Big Cat

Sales Trophy - for first Small Cat

Castle Cup – for first Asymmetric Skiff (RS500, Musto)

Johnson Cup – for first Merlin Rocket

Tasar Trophy – for first Tasar

Yachting & Boating Trophy – for first Laser

Laser Radial Prize – for first Laser Radial

Babbington Hill Trophy – for first Topper

SPG 06/05/2025