Please note: you are view an unstyled version of Either you have CSS (cascading style sheets) switched off or you browser is not capable of viewing CSS.

News at Whitstable Yacht Club

Club News

Club Champions - 2016!

Four races were sailed on Saturday and Sunday for this years' Club Championships, and as ever there was competitive racing throughout, with 37 boats taking part. This years' Champions were Tudor Owen and Tom Bruton in the 505 with a first place in all four races, beating Phil Emery and Dave Hawkins into a consistent second place. Max Sellar narrowly missed the top six but took the prize for the highest place Cadet, with a seventh overall in his Laser 4.7, and cadet Tom Oliver took the prize for the Slow Handicap in his Topper. Ruth Wilkinson also deserves a mention for winning the Ladies Cup as the highest placed female helm, and the Laser Radial prize, despite racing for the first time in a Laser!
The full results are posted here, and click more for the full list of prize winners.

1st place and the Dawes Trophy – for the overall club champion was won by Tudor Owen and Tom Bruton in a 505
2nd placed boat was Phil Emery and Dave Hawkins in a Merlin Rocket
3rd placed boat was John Cooper and Liz North in a Merlin Rocket
4th placed boat was Kevin Hall in a Laser
5th placed boat was Jon Bloice and Philipa Bloice in a Merlin Rocket
6th placed boat was Mark Grinter in a Laser
Ladies Cup – for first Lady helm overall was won by Ruth Wilkinson in a Laser Radial
Tom Bourne Trophy – for first cadet (u 18) overall was won by Max Sellar in a Laser 4.7
WYC Racing Shield – for first Big Cat was won by Robert Govier and David Figgis in a F18 Capricorn
Sales Trophy – for first Small Cat was won by Roy Davies and Mike Swain in a Dart 18
Castle Cup – for first Asymmetric Skiff was won by Alistair Gould in a Musto Skiff
Johnson Cup – for first Merlin Rocket was won by Phil Emery and Dave Hawkins in a Merlin Rocket
Tasar Trophy – for first Tasar was won by Richard Ledger and Rob Spaugthton in a Tasar
General Handicap Prize – for first General Handicap boat was won by Richard Maltby and John Hope in a Wanderer
Laser Prize – for first Laser was won by Kevin Hall in a Laser
Laser Radial Prize – for first Laser Radial was won by Ruth Wilkinson in a Laser Radial
Slow Handicap Dinghy prize – for first Slow Handicap dinghy was won by Tom Oliver in a Toper 4.2