Please note: you are view an unstyled version of www.wyc.org.uk. Either you have CSS (cascading style sheets) switched off or you browser is not capable of viewing CSS.

News at Whitstable Yacht Club

Programme Cover

    Ways of viewing the 2016 schedule:

  • Download the 2016 schedule for iCal on MacOS X, Google Calendar or Outlook on Windows in iCalendar format
  • View the 2016 schedule on Google calendar
  • Download a copy of the 2016 programme
  • View the 2016 racing schedule below

2016 Racing schedule

Date HW
(clock time)
Start Time Club and Open Events Race Officer Organiser
or Supporting class
Assistant RO or
Safety Boat Crew
Safety Boat Crew
March HW Start Time Club and Open Events Race Officer Organiser
or Supporting class
Assistant RO or
Safety Boat Crew
Safety Boat Crew
Sat 12 Mar 15:04 10:00 Working Party
Sun 13 Mar 15:47 14:00 April Showers 1 Geoff Mylcrist Brett Warburton-Smith Jason Lello
Sat 19 Mar 09:46 11:00 April Showers 2 Steve Pimblett Ghislain Melaine UKC
Sun 20 Mar 10:58 11:00 April Showers 3 Stephen Hodges Peter Wilson UKC
Fri 25 Mar 13:55 11:00 Cadet & Family Session 1 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Fri 25 Mar 13:55 14:00 Easter Nip Dave Wiliams Liz North Chris Partington
Sat 26 Mar 14:26 14:00 Easter Nip Chris Field Ruth Oliver John Berrington
Sun 27 Mar 15:55 14:00 Easter Nip Ian Rhodes Roy Hamilton Matthew Jolliffe
Mon 28 Mar 16:21 14:00 Easter Nip Mick Davidson Max Sellar Paul Blaxill
April HW Start Time Club and Open Events Race Officer Organiser
or Supporting class
Assistant RO or
Safety Boat Crew
Safety Boat Crew
Sat 02 Apr 08:05 TBC Cadet & Family Session 2 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 02 Apr 08:05 10:00 April Showers 4 Stephen Baker Mei Baker Ricky Jones
Sun 03 Apr 09:42 11:00 April Showers 5 Stephen Nation Julie Puckett Mike Fitzpatrick
Sat 09 Apr 14:58 TBC Cadet & Family Session 3 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 09 Apr 14:58 14:00 April Showers 6 Andy Clarke Fee Clarke Rupert Maas
Sat 09 Apr 14:58 17:00 WYC Annual General Meeting The Commodore
Sun 10 Apr 15:44 14:00 April Showers 7 Paul McNally Eliza Cox Gus Cox
Sat 16 Apr 09:01 TBC Cadet & Family Session 4 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 16 Apr 09:01 10:00 April Showers 8 Andy Jackson Evo Meredith John Moore
Sun 17 Apr 10:19 11:00 April Showers 9 (ends) Ali Nicolson Naomi Miall Dan Harwood
Sat 23 Apr 14:27 TBC Cadet & Family Session 5 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 23 Apr 14:27 14:00 Spring Series 1 Zanna Gooch Ravi Singh-Verma Matt Bright
Sat 23 Apr 14:27 14:00 Cruise to Harty Ferry (Sat or Sun) General Handicap Class Captain
Sun 24 Apr 14:57 14:00 Cruise to Harty Ferry (Sat or Sun) General Handicap Class Captain
Sun 24 Apr 14:57 14:00 Spring Series 2 Harvey Williams Mary Williams Nia Crockford
Sat 30 Apr 18:59 TBC Cadet & Family Session 6 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 30 Apr 18:59 15:00 Spring Series 3 (CB) Mark Barnes Tudor Owen Tom Bruton jnr
May HW Start Time Club and Open Events Race Officer Organiser
or Supporting class
Assistant RO or
Safety Boat Crew
Safety Boat Crew
Sun 01 May 20:12 15:00 Spring Series 4 (CB) Chris Pygall Tim Huckell Jason Barnes
Mon 02 May 09:07 10:00 RNLI Pursuit Race (CB) TBC TBC David Figgis
Fri 06 May 13:02 18:00 Cadet & Family Session 7 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 07 May 13:48 09:30 Cruise to Faversham Town Quay (Sat or Sun) General Handicap Class Captain
Sat 07 May 13:48 10:00 Small Cat Training Small Cat Class Captain
Sat 07 May 13:48 11:00 Spring Series 5 Steve Barnes Lachlan Pearman Will Stevens
Sun 08 May 14:36 09:30 Cruise to Faversham Town Quay (Sat or Sun) General Handicap Class Captain
Sun 08 May 14:36 14:00 Spring Series 6 (CB) John Gibbons David Oakley Simon Sparrow
Wed 11 May 16:55 19:00 Evening Series 1 Steve Wall Peter Thurston Caroline Thurston
Fri 13 May 18:33 18:00 Cadet & Family Session 8 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 14 May 19:36 15:00 Spring Series 7 (CB) Simon Reynolds Richard Cannon UKC
Sun 15 May 08:28 10:00 Spring Series 8 (CB) Francis Stileman Hugh Gostelow UKC
Fri 20 May 12:59 18:00 Cadet & Family Session 9 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 21 May 13:30 14:00 Spring Series 9 Howard Paterson Charles Baker John Phelan
Sat 21 May 13:30 10:00 B14 and 505 Open
Sun 22 May 14:00 14:00 Spring Series 10 Jon Bloice Philippa Bloice Michael Cook
Sun 22 May 14:00 09:30 General Handicap Training General Handicap Class Captain    
Sun 22 May 14:00 10:00 B14 and 505 Open (CB)
Fri 27 May 16:53 18:00 Cadet & Family Session 10 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 28 May 17:41 14:00 Club Championships (CB) TBC Roy Mansfield Alex Grantham
Sun 29 May 18:38 14:00 Club Championships (CB) TBC Sissy Dewhirst Benedict Dewhirst
Mon 30 May 07:20 10:00 Club Championships (CB) TBC Debbie Lowes David Lowes
June HW Start Time Club and Open Events Race Officer Organiser
or Supporting class
Assistant RO or
Safety Boat Crew
Safety Boat Crew
Wed 01 Jun 22:04 19:00 Evening Series 2 Tasar Tasar Tasar
Fri 03 Jun 11:46 18:00 Cadet & Family Session 11 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 04 Jun 12:39 12:00 Summer Saturdays 1 (CB) Phil Emery Karen Emery Tim Carlyle
Sat 04 Jun 12:39 12:00 Wanderer Nationals TBC TBC TBC
Sat 04 Jun 12:39 13:00 Summer Saturdays 2 (CB) Phil Emery Karen Emery Tim Carlyle
Sun 05 Jun 13:30 11:00 Wanderer Nationals TBC TBC TBC
Sun 05 Jun 13:30 11:00 Summer Sundays 1 (CB) John Cooper Hilary Bradshaw Richard Shirrefs
Sun 05 Jun 13:30 12:00 Summer Sundays 2 (CB) John Cooper Hilary Bradshaw Richard Shirrefs
Fri 10 Jun 17:18 18:00 Cadet & Family Session 12 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 11 Jun 18:02 15:00 Summer Saturdays 3 (CB) John Boorman Phil Scott Paul Fincham
Sun 12 Jun 18:52 14:00 Catamaran Long Distance Race to Herne Bay Pier (CB) Abby Zambinski Donna Hender Issie Bruton
Sun 12 Jun 18:52 15:00 Summer Sundays 3 (CB) Abby Zambinski Donna Hender Issie Bruton
Wed 15 Jun 22:17 19:00 Evening Series 3 Asymmetric Asymmetric Asymmetric
Fri 17 Jun 11:41 18:00 Cadet & Family Session 13 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 18 Jun 12:24 11:00 Summer Saturdays 4 Christian Brewer Colin Brown Allan Barnes
Sat 18 Jun 12:24 10:00 Merlin Rocket Open (CB) TBC TBC TBC
Sun 19 Jun 13:01 11:00 Summer Sundays 4 Nigel Brown Chris Adams Charlotte Bearcroft
Sun 19 Jun 13:01 10:00 Merlin Rocket Open (CB) TBC TBC TBC
Fri 24 Jun 16:04 18:00 Cadet & Family Session 14 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 25 Jun 16:44 14:00 Summer Saturdays 5 (CB) Mark Fagg Jill Fagg Ian Hender
Sat 25 Jun 16:44 15:00 Summer Saturdays 6 (CB) Mark Fagg Jill Fagg Ian Hender
Sun 26 Jun 17:29 14:00 Summer Sundays 5 (CB) Geoff Bush Maureen Bush Andrew Burns
Sun 26 Jun 17:29 15:00 Summer Sundays 6 (CB) Geoff Bush Maureen Bush Andrew Burns
Wed 29 Jun 20:19 19:00 Evening Series 4 Small Cats Small cats Small cats
July HW Start Time Club and Open Events Race Officer Organiser
or Supporting class
Assistant RO or
Safety Boat Crew
Safety Boat Crew
Fri 01 Jul 22:48 18:00 Cadet & Family Session 15 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 02 Jul 11:26 11:00 Summer Saturdays 7 Charles Campion Theresa Page David Proctor
Sat 02 Jul 11:26 12:00 Summer Saturdays 8 (CB) Charles Campion Theresa Page David Proctor
Sun 03 Jul 12:26 11:00 Summer Sundays 7 (CB) Matt French John Crawford Jonathan Carter
Sun 03 Jul 12:26 12:00 Summer Sundays 8 (CB) Matt French John Crawford Jonathan Carter
Fri 08 Jul 16:13 18:00 Cadet & Family Session 16 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Fri 08 Jul 16:13 10:00 Tasar Nationals (CB) TBC TBC TBC
Sat 09 Jul 16:52 15:00 Summer Saturdays 9 Bill Edmondson John Day Jon Ducker
Sat 09 Jul 16:52 10:00 Tasar Nationals TBC TBC TBC
Sun 10 Jul 17:30 15:00 Summer Sundays 9 Chris Gerry Chris Jarrett Alex Harwood
Sun 10 Jul 17:30 10:00 Tasar Nationals (CB) TBC TBC TBC
Wed 13 Jul 19:51 19:00 Evening Series 5 Laser Laser Laser
Fri 15 Jul 22:23 18:00 Cadet & Family Session 17 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 16 Jul 10:51 08:30 Cruise around Sheppey (Sat or Sun) General Handicap Class Captain
Sat 16 Jul 10:51 11:00 Summer Saturdays 10 James Goodfellow Simon Luckhurst Conor Lamb
Sat 16 Jul 10:51 12:00 Summer Saturdays 11 (CB) James Goodfellow Simon Luckhurst Conor Lamb
Sun 17 Jul 11:48 08:30 Cruise around Sheppey (Sat or Sun) General Handicap Class Captain
Sun 17 Jul 11:48 10:00 Cat Long Distance Race - Figgis Classic Big Cat Class Captain
Sun 17 Jul 11:48 11:00 Summer Sundays 10 (CB) Steve Gray Sally Newcombe Roy Lovelidge
Sun 17 Jul 11:48 12:00 Summer Sundays 11 (CB) Steve Gray Sally Newcombe Roy Lovelidge
Fri 22 Jul 15:10 18:00 Cadet & Family Session 18 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 23 Jul 15:51 Whitstable Oyster Festival
Sat 23 Jul 15:51 12:00 WYC Open Day The General Committee
Sun 24 Jul 16:31 Whitstable Oyster Festival
Sun 24 Jul 16:31 14:00 Catamaran Long Distance Race to Pollard/Sand End Matt Green Rosie Tribe Jeremy Scott
Sun 24 Jul 16:31 15:00 Summer Sundays 12 (CB) Matt Green Rosie Tribe Jeremy Scott
Sun 24 Jul 16:31 11:00 Laser Training 1 Laser Class Captain
Mon 25 Jul 17:13 Whitstable Oyster Festival
Tue 26 Jul 17:58 Whitstable Oyster Festival
Wed 27 Jul 18:50 19:00 Evening Series 6 Merlin Merlin Merlin
Thu 28 Jul 19:53 Whitstable Oyster Festival
Fri 29 Jul 21:11 Whitstable Oyster Festival
Fri 29 Jul 21:11 18:00 Cadet & Family Session 19 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 30 Jul 09:58 Whitstable Oyster Festival
Sat 30 Jul 09:58 11:00 Summer Saturdays 12 Mark Grinter Christopher Stanwell Dominic Wade
Sun 31 Jul 11:15 Whitstable Oyster Festival
Sun 31 Jul 11:15 11:00 Dawes Cup (CB) Keith Underdown Sarah Hodges Simon Hadley
August HW Start Time Club and Open Events Race Officer Organiser
or Supporting class
Assistant RO or
Safety Boat Crew
Safety Boat Crew
Mon 01 Aug 12:21 14:00 Whitstable Week (CB) John Boorman
Tue 02 Aug 13:12 14:00 Whitstable Week (CB) John Boorman
Wed 03 Aug 13:54 14:00 Whitstable Week (CB) John Boorman
Thu 04 Aug 14:34 14:00 Whitstable Week (CB) John Boorman
Fri 05 Aug 15:12 14:00 Whitstable Week (CB) John Boorman
Sat 06 Aug 15:50 15:00 Town Regatta (CB) Tom Bruton Snr Richard Ledger Ricky Jones
Sun 07 Aug 16:24 15:00 Town Regatta (CB) Peter King Laurie King Caspar Davies
Wed 10 Aug 18:14 19:00 Evening Series 7 General Handicap General handicap General handicap
Fri 12 Aug 19:59 18:00 Cadet & Family Session 20 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 13 Aug 08:45 10:00 Summer Saturdays 13 Nick Stephens Ben Spratling Sean Irving
Sat 13 Aug 08:45 10:00 Cruise to Minnis Bay (Sat or Sun) General Handicap Class Captain
Sun 14 Aug 09:58 10:00 Cruise to Minnis Bay (Sat or Sun) General Handicap Class Captain
Sun 14 Aug 09:58 11:00 Summer Sundays 13 (CB) Max Hunt Kelvin Tolson David Boyce
Fri 19 Aug 14:10 18:00 Cadet & Family Session 21 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 20 Aug 14:50 14:00 Summer Saturdays 14 (CB) John Boorman Richard Ledger Tom Bruton Snr
Sat 20 Aug 14:50 14:00 Topaz Uno Nationals John Boorman Richard Ledger Tom Bruton Snr
Sat 20 Aug 14:50 15:00 Summer Saturdays 15 (CB) John Boorman Richard Ledger Tom Bruton Snr
Sun 21 Aug 15:31 14:00 Topaz Uno Nationals John Boorman Peter King TBC
Sun 21 Aug 15:31 14:00 Summer Sundays 14 (CB) John Boorman Peter King TBC
Sun 21 Aug 15:31 15:00 Summer Sundays 15 (CB) John Boorman Peter King TBC
Sun 21 Aug 15:31 11:00 Laser Training 2 Laser Class Captain
Wed 24 Aug 17:37 19:00 Evening Series 8 (ends) Slow Handicap Slow Handicap Slow Handicap
Fri 26 Aug 19:34 18:00 Cadet & Family Session 22 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 27 Aug 08:25 10:00 August Regatta (CB) Mike Oliver Tom Oliver Andrew Sellar
Sun 28 Aug 09:44 11:00 August Regatta (CB) John Kelly Anabelle Cox Graham Cox
Mon 29 Aug 11:08 11:00 August Regatta (CB) Jamie Pope Huw Renolds John Crozier
September HW Start Time Club and Open Events Race Officer Organiser
or Supporting class
Assistant RO or
Safety Boat Crew
Safety Boat Crew
Sat 03 Sep 14:48 TBC Cadet & Family Session 23 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 03 Sep 14:48 12:00 Forts Race John Boorman
Sun 04 Sep 15:24 11:00 Forts Race John Boorman
Sat 10 Sep 19:11 TBC Cadet & Family Session 24 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 10 Sep 19:11 12:00 KSSA Regatta KSSA
Sat 10 Sep 19:11 15:00 Autumn Series 1 Kevin Hall Paul Kelly Steve Wynn
Sun 11 Sep 07:54 10:00 Autumn Series 2 (CB) Adrian Murch Duncan Oliver Claire Whichcord
Sat 17 Sep 13:45 TBC Cadet & Family Session 25 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 17 Sep 13:45 10:00 Cruise to Conyer Marina (Sat or Sun) General Handicap Class Captain
Sat 17 Sep 13:45 14:00 Autumn Series 3 (CB) Mark Grigg Claire Grigg Adam Roake
Sun 18 Sep 14:26 10:00 Cruise to Conyer Marina (Sat or Sun) General Handicap Class Captain
Sun 18 Sep 14:26 14:00 Bart's Bash (CB) Robert Govier
Sat 24 Sep 19:22 TBC Cadet & Family Session 26 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 24 Sep 19:22 15:00 Autumn Series 4 (CB) Gavin Barr Mark Skipper Peter Carter
Sun 25 Sep 08:05 10:00 Autumn Series 5 (CB) Justin Bettany Kate Ahern Ian Hay
Sat 01 Oct 13:49 TBC Cadet & Family Session 27 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
October HW Start Time Club and Open Events Race Officer Organiser
or Supporting class
Assistant RO or
Safety Boat Crew
Safety Boat Crew
Sat 01 Oct 13:49 12:00 Dart 18 Open TBC TBC TBC
Sat 01 Oct 13:49 14:00 Autumn Series 6 David Connor Colin Cannon John Jones
Sun 02 Oct 14:23 11:00 Dart 18 Open TBC TBC TBC
Sun 02 Oct 14:23 14:00 Autumn Series 7 Paul Cross Nicholas Schoon Peter Johnson
Sat 08 Oct 17:41 TBC Cadet & Family Session 28 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 08 Oct 17:41 14:00 Autumn Series 8 (CB) Andrew Folkard Peter Hill Richard Earland
Sun 09 Oct 18:32 15:00 Autumn Series 9 (CB) Richard Maltby Steve Tamsett Matthew Goward
Sat 15 Oct 12:36 TBC Cadet & Family Session 29 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 15 Oct 12:36 11:00 Autumn Series 10 Kings School Kings School Kings School
Sun 16 Oct 13:18 14:00 Autumn Series 11 (CB) Ian Nevill Glenda Nevill Stephen Comfort
Sat 22 Oct 17:58 TBC Cadet & Family Session 30 Cadet Committee RYA Instructor and volunteers
Sat 22 Oct 17:58 14:00 Autumn Series 12 Tony Clements Jon Dennis Drystan Harnett
Sun 23 Oct 19:11 15:00 Autumn Series 13 Peter Heyes Jo Phillips Mike Swain
Sun 30 Oct 12:24 11:00 Winter Series 1 Mark Holweger Carolyn Mumby Mark Fraser
November HW Start Time Club and Open Events Race Officer Organiser
or Supporting class
Assistant RO or
Safety Boat Crew
Safety Boat Crew
Sun 06 Nov 16:19 14:00 Winter Series 2 Tony Dod Julie Dod Tim Hopthrow
Sat 12 Nov   19:00 Annual Prize Giving & Laying Up Supper
Sun 13 Nov 11:04 11:00 Winter Series 3 Roy Davis Fef Griffin Peter Griffin
Sun 20 Nov 16:46 14:00 Winter Series 4 Sarah Wren Emma Laversuch & Holly Gostelow Richard Saunders
Sun 27 Nov 11:18 11:00 Winter Series 5 Richard Jones Patty Baker Gavin Whittaker
Sun 27 Nov 11:18 13:00 Meeting of Sailors [Updated Date] Rear Commodore Sailing
December HW Start Time Club and Open Events Race Officer Organiser
or Supporting class
Assistant RO or
Safety Boat Crew
Safety Boat Crew
Sun 04 Dec 15:25 13:00 Winter Series 6 Glenn Cook Neil Rison Kirsty Rison
Sun 11 Dec 09:33 11:00 Winter Series 7 Robert Govier Clare Langburn Nick Runeckles
Sun 11 Dec 09:33 13:00 Winter Series Prize Giving Rear Commodore Sailing

Race calendar

(Click on the button at the bottom right of the calendar to add the 2016 dates to your Google Calendar)

Previous Year schedules